Close your IBKR account

How to close your IBKR account and liquidate or transfer any remaining balance.

Updated 16 June 2026

If you’d like to close your Interactive Brokers account entirely, you can initiate the process from within the IBKR Client Portal. Before closing, IBKR will require you to liquidate any open positions and transfer any remaining cash balance to your bank account.

1. Log in and open Settings

Log in to your IBKR Client Portal, then click Settings in the top-right corner of the screen.

IBKR Client Portal user menu dropdown with the Settings option highlighted
Click Settings from the top-right user menu.

2. Click Close Account

Under Account Settings, click Close Account.

IBKR Account Settings page showing 'Close Account' listed under Account Configuration

Select Close Account from the Account Configuration section.

3. Follow the closure steps

You will be redirected to a page that walks you through the steps required to close your account. This includes liquidating any assets currently held and transferring any remaining cash balance to your bank account.

IBKR account closure page titled 'We're Sorry to See You Go' listing the five closure steps and a bank information field

Follow the on-screen steps to liquidate positions and transfer your remaining cash balance.